Bears reveal first depth chart for Week 1

Vince Carbonneau
September 6, 2022  (9:18 PM)

We are only a few days away from the start of the regular season. Indeed, the Bears are facing the San Francisco 49ers Sunday at Soldier Field.

The Bears released their first depth chart ahead of Sunday's season opener against the 49ers, which didn't feature too many surprises and provided the answers to some questions regarding position battles along the offensive line and defensive end.
Here is what senior writer Larry Mayer reported:
As expected, Justin Fields is listed as the starting quarterback, with Trevor Siemian as the backup.

David Montgomery is the No. 1 running back, ahead of Khalil Herbert and Trestan Ebner. Khari Blasingame is the only fullback listed.

Darnell Mooney is the starter at one receiver position, ahead of Velus Jones Jr. and Dante Pettis. Equanimeous St. Brown is first at the other wideout spot, followed by Byron Pringle and Ihmir Smith-Marsette.

The starting offensive line consists of left tackle Braxton Jones, left guard Cody Whitehair, center Lucas Patrick, right guard Teven Jenkins and right tackle Larry Borom. The second unit features left tackle Riley Reiff, Patrick at left guard, center Sam Mustipher, right guard Ja'Tyre Carter and right tackle Alex Leatherwood.

Cole Kmet is the No. 1 tight end, ahead of Ryan Griffin, Jake Tonges and Trevon Wesco.

The starting defensive line consists of ends Robert Quinn and Al-Quadin Muhammad and tackles Justin Jones and Angelo Blackson. Second-stringers are ends Dominique Robinson and Trevis Gipson and tackles Armon Watts and Mike Pennel Jr. End Kingsley Jonathan is listed with the third defense.

The starting linebackers are Roquan Smith, backed up by Jack Sanborn; Nicholas Morrow, backed up by Sterling Weatherford; and Matthew Adams.

Jaylon Johnson is the starter at one cornerback position, ahead of Lamar Jackson and Josh Blackwell, while Kyler Gordon is atop the depth chart at the other spot, followed by Kindle Vildor and Jaylon Jones.

At safety, Eddie Jackson and Jaquan Brisker are the starters, DeAndre Houston-Carson and Dane Cruikshank are the backups, and Elijah Hicks is listed with the third team.

The three specialists are kicker Cairo Santos, punter Trenton Gill and long-snapper Patrick Scales.

Herbert is the No. 1 kickoff returner, followed by Jones, Pringle and Ebner, while Jones is the top punt returner, ahead of Pettis and Jackson.

Here is a link to the full depth chart:
Latest 10 stories