Officials Ignored A Crucial Rule That Cost The Bengals During Critical Moment Of AFC Championship
It's no secret to anyone who watched the games this weekend that the officiating played a significant role in determining the outcomes of the games on Sunday.
However, one play, in particular, was pretty much a huge blown call by everyone involved.
It happened in the second quarter. Chiefs receiver Marquez Valdes-Scantling caught a pass from quarterback Patrick Mahomes on third-and-7 from the Bengals' 26-yard line. Stopped by the Bengals' defense at the 20-yard line, Valdes-Scantling briefly stuck the ball out toward the line to gain, but referee Torbert's crew spotted the ball 1 yard short of the first down.
After further review, the play was overturned and the Chiefs were awarded a first down. However, it looks like the officials responsible for overturning the original decision ignored a fundamental rule regarding forward progress.
Must read on LetsBearDown
Indeed, check out this report:
Here is the clip in question. You be the judge...
Previously on LetsBearDown
|
Dec 6 | By Chris Lewis Randy Moss is stepping away from Sunday NFL Countdown for a specific reason |
|
Sep 27 | By Bobby Ohr OC Shane Waldron makes strange comment on Khalil Herbert |
|
Sep 27 | By Bobby Ohr Caleb Williams opens up about rough start |
|
Sep 27 | By Bobby Ohr 3 front runners step up to try and land Bill Belichick for next season |
|
Sep 27 | By Axel Williams Caleb Williams buys $12.9 million home: take a look |
|
Sep 27 | By Axel Williams Marcedes Lewis delivers a message to Shane Waldron |
|
Sep 27 | By Axel Williams Matthew Stafford gives huge endorsement to Caleb Williams |
|
Sep 26 | By Chris Lewis The Dallas Cowboys secure an important victory against the New York Giants. |